Georgetown County GOP convention elects Jerow as chairman

Georgetown County Republicans unanimously elected Jim Jerow as party chairman at their convention today.

A Pawleys Island resident, Jerow is the past president of the Waccamaw Neck Republican Club and was chairman of the successful SCGOP Victory 2010 effort in Georgetown County last fall.

He replaces Tom Swatzel, who honored a two-term pledge limit by not seeking reelection.

Glen O'Connell was elected as state executive committeeman, replacing Jill Kelso, who was recently hired as state Rep. Thad Viers' district chief of staff.

O'Connell is a former member of the Georgetown County Council, a past Georgetown County GOP chairman, and a former S.C. Republican Party Treasurer.

Reelected by the convention were Vice-Chairman R.L. Port, Secretary Ruthann Howard, and Treasurer Howard Ward.

The convention also elected twelve delegates to the state party convention on May 7th.